Russia imposes retaliatory sanctions on 62 Canadians

Russia has imposed retaliatory sanctions on 62 Canadian citizens, barring them from visiting the country, its foreign ministry said amid lingering fallout from the Ukraine conflict.

The ministry said in a statement that the measure was taken in response to Ottawa’s hostile decision to impose sanctions on Russian government officials, journalists, experts and the leader of Russian Orthodox Church Patriarch Kirill. I.

The Russian Foreign Ministry further accused Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s administration of “hostile actions against Russia” and also released the names of those on its retaliatory sanctions list, which includes officials from the Ottawa Department of Foreign Affairs and the Prime Minister’s Office as well as a number of political analysts, artists and religious figures.

Canada launched economic and political sanctions against Moscow in June and July after the start of Russia’s special military operation in neighboring Ukraine in February after kyiv and the US-led NATO military alliance The United States has failed to respond to Moscow’s demands for security guarantees in the face of Western Bloc plans to expand further east, closer to Russia’s borders.

Canada’s anti-Russian bans were part of broader economic and political wars waged by the United States against Moscow in the wake of the Ukraine conflict as part of a global push to isolate and pressure the Russian side to ‘She’s giving up her national security concerns amid growing NATO military activity. in Eastern Europe.

Ottawa’s latest round of anti-Russian sanctions came last month when it targeted the country’s oil and gas sector and chemical industry.

“On July 14, 2022, Canada again amended the Special Economic Measures (Russia) Regulations to prohibit the provision of 2 manufacturing services to the Russian oil, gas, chemical and manufacturing industries,” says a document published at the time on the official website of Canada. ministry website.

According to the document, Canadian citizens and businesses are prohibited from providing a number of services to the Russian side, including services incidental to the manufacture of fabricated metal products; motor vehicles, trailers and semi-trailers; computer, electronic and optical products; electrical equipment and other sectors.

Comments are closed.